Ode to: SEASONS

I have four outfits,

And I slip between them like clockwork,

So smooth and cyclical like the sun and moon

As ornately as an orchestra, and just as in tune.

One of them is gilded,

Dripped in honey and amber and framed in laughter

Long day-dress and short night-curls

Sky-blue earrings and sunlight pearls.

After I have danced,

In the meadows and beaches

And swam in the smell of daisys and peaches,

I change into something less life, more grounding.

something more mellow, jaded and browning.

This one is school,

It is for introversion, learning, growing and forgiving

Zephyr swept hair, cold clipped nose and soil swept shoes,

I am basically naked save my bare branches and earth orange hues.

After I have shed,

All my layers and learnt from them,

I get a bit cold and shrug on my furs again,

These are my elegant, decadent and slow,

Shapes framed in dark roots and made of ivory white snow.

This one is finery,

Pearls and ivory,

Shard sharp edges of ice and of white,

Crisp cut detail of snowflakes in bright light.

Then, once I have twirled

Through a white ballroom floored meadow,

I begin to see the peeking and sprouting of green hedgerow,

This is when I take off my furs and pearls

And heed the smell of new life in this cyclical world.

My final outfit, before I begin again,

Is dedicated to rebirth, life and the sun,

Is one of sprouts and shoots and yellows and greens,

Recycled styles, floral prints and budding leaves,

SEASONS

Leave a comment